h1

Perfect Wedding Part 2

September 13, 2008

I left you hanging at the end of the ceremony, as if that was all there was to the wedding.  There is much more.  It just seemed like too much to put into one post.  I’ll warn you now.  It’s very likely that there will be two more posts about the wedding.  So, it’s time to party!

The celebration continued with hors d’oeuvres and cocktails.  We greeted our guests, got our drinks and posed for some pictures.  Before long, it was time for the meal, which started with a blessing from our minister, followed by the most incredible toast offered by my daughter, Stormie.  I know I blew her mind when I asked her to give the toast, but I explained that she is the one who knows our relationship better than anyone else, and as the eldest child of the seven in the blended family, it simply made sense that she receive that honor. 

Stormie’s toast is worthy of a separate blog entry.  What stands out for me is the way in which she affirmed the welcome of Scott into our family, then spoke of the lessons of love she has learned from us.  For instance, I believe that one can not receive emotionally what one is not willing to give:  you want love?  you’ve got to give it.  A particularly moving part of her toast was when she identified with me saying “I am my father’s daughter.”  How well I know this.  It has given us an incredible emotional intimacy, while also creating some tension as we confront in each other, the things we don’t like about ourselves.  If you think this would make for a teary-eyed moment at the wedding, you’re right.  I couldn’t see most of the people around me, but word has it that there wasn’t a dry eye in the house. 

Fabulous dinner was served, and Scott and I made the rounds to each table to chat with our guests.  We were honored to hear such glowing compliments about our ceremony, our selection of music, our table settings, and even the choice of the venue.  The wedding cake was so elegant with blue-green ombre ribbon around each square layer and the hydrangea to separate them.  Our pictures topped the cake.  It looks like Scott smeared the cake as we fed each other, and yeah, he did a little, but not enough that I would be wearing cake all evening.

I was feeling a bit self-conscious about the first dance as a married couple.  I had so wanted to get dance lessons, but time and money prevented us from getting into a dance class.  We took to the floor and danced to “Someone Like You” from Jekyll and Hyde.  The lights were dimmed and once again Scott and I were in our own world, chatting, laughing, and moving effortlessly around the floor.  I don’t remember fighting each other to lead, or for which direction to go next.  I don’t even remember what I said that had Scott laughing, but it produced one of my favorite pictures of the evening. 

When our dance was done, we invited our guests to join us on the dance floor.  We chose “At Last” by Etta James.  It certainly sums up our feelings about find each other.

At last, my love has come along
My lonely days are over
And life is like a song
Oh, yeah, at last
The skies above are blue
My heart was wrapped up in clovers
The night I looked at you
I found a dream that I could speak to
A dream that I can call my own
I found a thrill to rest my cheek to
A thrill that I have never known
Oh, yeah when you smile, you smile
Oh, and then the spell was cast
And here we are in heaven
For you are mine
At last

Then it was time to party!  Shirley Bassey does a great cover of “Get the Party Started” and as the first mysterious strains began it evoked a masculine James Bond image.  The grooms, in their tuxes, coaxed the rest of the guests to the dance floor.  When the beat kicked in, the party took off and never stopped until it was time to pack up and go home.

Now, what do 2 grooms do about the traditions associated with a wedding?  We change them!  We make them our own.  No one carried a bouquet and no one wore a garter.  We had nothing to toss.  That didn’t stop us though.  We bought 2 pair of boxers, rolled them tight and tied them with a ribbon.  We then had the DJ invite all the women to the dance floor, not just the single women, but all the women.  The single women are usually embarassed to go out for the bouquet, and the married women resent not being eligible.  We took care of that by not discriminating.  Scott tossed the first pair of boxers.  We did the same for all the men, and I tossed the second pair to them.  We rewarded the winners with a bottle of homemade wine and a cd of music that included songs played at the wedding as well as some of our favorite club remixes. 

 

We danced the night away with our friends and family.  We filled that room with love.  And now, weeks later, we still hear how much fun our guests had, and Scott and I feel the effects of having those closest to us affirm our marriage with their presence.

note:  there’s more to come:  a unique twist to the honeymoon!

3 comments

  1. What a wonderful wedding! I haven’t had that much fun in ages. It was an honor to be able to share in such a beautiful occasion…and yes, Stormie’s toast was very very moving and a fitting tribute to the love she has for you both. You made a great choice.
    I’m so happy for you guys!!! xoxoxox Genie


  2. Steve: I cannot wait for the last installments of this beautiful love story…….so happy for you!!!!!!


  3. […] 26, 2008 Way too long ago, I promised that I would report on the events that took place after the Big Gay Wedding.  After much procrastination, here it […]



Leave a Reply

